Sean Payton

Born Dec 29, 1963
Nationality United States United States

Patrick Sean Payton is a former National Football League player and the current head coach of the New Orleans Saints. During his amateur football days, he played as a quarterback for Eastern Illinois University and Naperville Central High School. He started playing as a professional in 1987 and was known for his impressive offensive strategies. As a coach, he started being an assistant coach in many teams before finally being declared as the full-time coach of the New Orleans Saints in 2006. He is considered the second most tenured coach in the history of the National Football League.

Payton started his professional football career by being the quarterback of the Pittsburgh Gladiators and the Chicago Bruisers during the Arena Football League inaugural season. After this tournament, his rights were sold to Canada Football League’s Ottawa Rough Riders. In addition, he was also a member of the Spare Bears, which were strikebreaking replacement payers of the Chicago Bears. This also happened during the NFL players’ strike in 1987. By 1988, Payton joined Leicester Panthers as a quarterback and played in the UK Budweiser National League. He was instrumental in the Panther’s several wins, which allowed it to qualify for the quarterfinals.

In 1988, Payton began his coaching career. He started being the offensive assistant of San Diego State from 1988-1989 before being the receiver and running backs coach of Indiana State in 1990. By 1992, he went back to San Diego State and become its running backs coach. From 1994 to 2002, he became the offensive coordinator of Miami University and the New York Giants. He was also the quarterbacks coach of the University of Illinois, Philadelphia Eagles, and the New York Giants. Furthermore, he became the assistant head coach and the quarterbacks coach of the Dallas Cowboys from 2003 to 2005 before signing in as the head coach of the New Orleans Saint in 2006.

Under Payton’s coaching, the New York Saints made it to the NFC Championship in 2006, 2009, and 2019 as well as the 2006 NFL playoffs. The team also won their first Super Bowl in 2009. Due to his team’s standing, he was awarded the AP NFL Coach of the Year Award in 2006 as well as the Kansas City Committee of 101 NFC Coach of the Year in 2006 and 2009.

Career Highlights

  • Eastern Illinois Hall of Fame
  • 2006 AP Coach of the Year
  • XLIV Super Bowl champion

What's Your Take?

Reply to