Troy Aikman is a retired professional American football player in the National Football League (NFL). He held the quarterback position for the Dallas Cowboys from 1989 to 2000. Aikman is a three-time Super Bowl Champion, Super Bowl MVP, and six-time Pro Bowl.

Born on November 21, 1966 in California, he earned All-State honors while playing football for Henryetta High School. While attending University of California – Los Angeles, he received numerous awards including the 1988 Davey O’Brien award. In the 1989 NFL Draft, he was selected by the Dallas Cowboys as the first overall pick.

Born 21 Nov 1966
Nationality United States United States
Nickname Roy, The Godfather, Iceman

During his rookie season, he made a new NFL record by throwing 370 yards in a single game. In 1992, he threw 89 passes without an interception and broke Joe Montana’s previous record. He led the team to a victory over the Buffalo Bills in Super Bowl XXVII where he was also named as MVP.

While Aikman helped the team win in the NFC Championship, he suffered from a concussion during the game. In 1994, he was unable to play due to some injuries. He had the best record in the NFC when he passed for more than 3,300 yards in 1995.

The team went on to win the NFC Championship and the Super Bowl XXX. He went on to become the first quarterback to gain three straight 3,000 yard seasons in the history of the franchise. Aikman suffered from several concussions in 2000 and announced his retirement in the 2001 offseason.

Aikman is the all-time leading passer of the Cowboys. His career player statistics are 4,715 pass attempts, 2,898 passing completions, 61.5 percentage, 165–141 touchdowns-interceptions, 32,942 passing yards, and 81.6 passer rating. Troy Aikman is a College Football Hall of Famer and a Pro Football Hall of Famer.


• 3-time Super Bowl champion (XXVII, XXVIII, XXX),• Super Bowl MVP (XXVII)• 6-time Pro Bowl (1991–1996)• Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year (1997)• Dallas Cowboys Ring of Honor• National champion (1985)• Davey O’Brien Award (1988)• Consensus All-American (1988)• UCLA Bruins No. 8 retired

User Comments

Reply to