NCAA stands for the National Collegiate Athletic Association of Football. This organization was founded in 1997 and established to serve as the collective voice to promote college football. The NCAA football is a not-for-profit organization and represents a coalition of different organizations namely the American Football Coaches Association (AFCA), the Collegiate Commissioners Association (CCA), the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) and the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA). An earlier effort was pushed through by both AFCA and NACDA back in 1995, calling the formation of College Sports USA.

The mission of NCAA football is to improve, promote and protect college football for those who not only play, but coach, support and dream of playing the sport. The tagline of the organization is “NCAA Football: Every Game Counts”.

Sport American Football
Country United States United States
Founded 1997
Teams 2
Teams promoted / relegated 0

The NCAA football serves to fulfill this mission through its objectives. First is to increase interest of the sport through targeted grassroots, promotional and interactive programs. Second is to promote college football and to make opportunities available for the youth to engage in the game and to encourage them to pursue higher education opportunities. Third is to encourage good sportsmanship to foster a family-oriented atmosphere in and around games. Fourth is to develop promotional and marketing opportunities to create a single voice for college football with the help of several key organizations such as the AFCA, CCA, NACDA and NCAA. Last is to create incremental revenues through a sponsorship and licensing program that will help to support common initiatives, generate new royalties and financially support worthy projects all for the advancement of college football.

The NCAA football has a Board of Directors made up of 16 members. The members of the Board represent each NCAA Division I-BCS conference, the AFCA, NACDA, the NCAA and the NCAA Division I-FCS.