National Football Conference

Sport American Football
Country United States United States
Founded 1970
Teams 16
Teams promoted / relegated 0

National Football Conference or NFC is one of two conferences under the National Football League. The Conference was created when the league was merged with the American Football League around the early 1970s. During its initial run, the NFC only had 13 teams. All of the said teams were those that had previously played with the league. However, three of its own teams were transferred to the AFC. The said teams included the Cleveland Browns, Baltimore Colts and the Pittsburgh Steelers.

Since the time of the AFL and NFL merger, there have been 3 teams added into the National Football Conference, making the current count land at 16. In 1976, the Tampa Bay Buccaneers and the Seattle Seahawks were added into the AFC and NFC, respectively. However, after one season, the teams switched places. By 2002, the Seattle Seahawks transferred once more to the NFC after a realignment was made. The third addition to the NFC would be the Carolina Panthers, which was added in 1995.

The 16 teams are divided into four groups representing the North, South, East and West divisions. Each team under a division is scheduled to play against each of the other teams under the division twice. This happens during the regular season, and in addition to the set games, some other match ups are scheduled as well.

At the end of the regular season, the most hyped season begins: the playoffs. During the playoffs, 6 teams are chosen to compete with each other. Four of these teams are the division champions while the other two teams are considered as “wild cards”.

The NFC logo is a blue “N” that contains three white stars inside the incline of the “N”.

  • Improve this page!