American Football Article

The NFC vs the AFC

Although the National Football Conference (NFC) has dominated the American Football Conference (AFC) in recent National Football League (NFL) title games, fans with 2015 Super Bowl tickets should expect a more competitive game than last year’s Seattle Seahawks blowout win over the Denver Broncos.

Since the 1970 merger between the NFL and the American Football League (AFL), the NFC has posted 26 Super Bowl wins, while the AFC has won 22. However, both conferences have enjoyed dominant winning streaks over the years.

The Green Bay Packers won the first two Super Bowls for the NFC before the AFC captured 11 of the next 13 NFL championships. The Pittsburgh Steelers led the way for the AFC with four titles, while the Miami Dolphins added a pair of Super Bowl victories.

The NFC began its own streak in 1982 when the San Francisco 49ers edged the Cincinnati Bengals, 26-21, in Super Bowl XXVI. The NFC claimed wins in 15 of the next 16 title games, including a record-breaking 13 consecutive victories from 1985 to 1997, to grab a commanding 19-12 lead in Super Bowl wins.

The 49ers were the AFC’s biggest thorn claiming four Super Bowl wins, while the Cowboys won three titles, and both the New York Giants and Washington Redskins each brought home two Vince Lombardi Trophies.

Led by a trio of Super Bowl victories by the New England Patriots, and two apiece by the Steelers and Denver Broncos, the AFC put together an impressive run of their own with nine wins over the next 12 title games to reduce the NFC lead to just one, 22-21. But the NFC answered back with four victories over the AFC in the next five Super Bowls to become the NFL’s dominant conference heading into Super Bowl XLIX.

While Super Bowl 2015 tickets are a hot commodity, NFL fans should be in for a high-scoring but competitive affair. Four of the past five Super Bowl champions have scored 31 or more points and with the exception of last year - when the Seahawks rolled to a 43-8 rout over the Broncos - no team has won on the NFL’s biggest stage by more than 14 points since 2003.

Sports Pundit member

What's Your Take?

Reply to Profile image