Twenty20 cricket, or most commonly known as T20, is a format used in cricket. This was first introduced in 2003 by the England and Wales Cricket Board, wherein two teams only have single innings and a maximum of 20 overs. A usual Twenty20 game can be completed in 3 hours with a 10-minute break interval between the innings, thus shortened compared to a more traditional cricket match. Because of its convenience, Twenty20 became the format for most cricket games.

The Origin of Twenty20

The England and Wales Cricket Board was the first one to introduce this format and to boost up the popularity of cricket, they decided to make this format official so the younger generation can take interest in it. The intention of reformatting the match is to deliver a fast-paced and more thrilling match and not to bore its spectators. Stuart Robertson was the first to propose this format, who received a vote of 11-7 in favor of adopting to Twenty20.

T20 Leagues and International Matches

Because of the massive popularity, it gained in a short period of time, many Cricket Association around the world also adopted the same format. The Board of Control for Cricket in India started to use T20 in 2008 while the match between England and New Zealand in 2004 tried it by winning nine runs. In 2005, the first team to win the first men’s international Twenty20 match was Australia.

The Impact of T20 on the Game

Twenty20 is a more challenging type of cricket wherein it requires more dynamics and athletic form of cricket. Many cricket coaches remarked that T20 had raised the bar when it comes to disciplining their players because it demanded more speed, strength, and reflex. Because this format is timed, it may require a fast-reactor player and a higher level of scoring skills and concentration.

General Rule of Twenty20

Each team is only allowed to involve a single inning with a maximum of 20 overs. If the fielding team doesn’t bowl their 20th over in 1 hour and 30 minutes, then the batting side will take an extra 6 runs. It will still be upon the umpire’s decision if they will add more time if the batting team failed to take the extra run.