Berkshire County Cricket Club

Country England England
City Berkshire
Founded 1895

Within the English domestic cricket structure the Berkshire County Cricket Club (CCC) makes up one of the Minor counties. It represents the historic county of Berkshire and plays in the MCCA Knockout Trophy and the Minor Counties Championship. The three day matches played by the Minor Counties are at a level lesser than the first-class games. Currently Berkshire is part of the Western Division of the Minor Counties Championship.

Some of the prominent players of the Berkshire CCC are Gordon Greenidge, John Emburey, Jimmy Adams, Ken Barrington, Tom Dollery, Thomas Waymark, Robert Relf, Peter May, Graham Roope, Alan Igglesden and Aftab Habib. The Berkshire CCC does not have a fixed address and it uses several grounds in the county like Thatcham CC in Newbury, Slough CC in Slough, Reading School in Reading, Reading CHC in Reading, Maidenhead & Bray CC in Maidenhead, Kidmore End CC in Reading, Hurst CC in Reading, Hungerford CC in Hungerford, Finchampstead CC in Finchampstead and Falkland CC in Newbury.

Following are the results of some league matches. On 19th August 2007 the Berkshire CCC – MCCA Championship XI defeated Cornwall CCC – MCCA Championship XI. Similarly on 5th August 2007 the Berkshire CCC – MCCA Championship XI won against Dorset CCC – MCCA Championship XI. Similarly on 8th July 2007 Berkshire CCC – MCCA Championship XI defeated Wales MC – MCCA Championship XI. On 4th June 2006 Wales MC 1st XI was defeated by Berkshire CCC – Berkshire First XI.

Before the Berkshire CCC was established the Oldfield Club was a Berkshire county team however it was not formally declared as a county club.

Major achievements

Berkshire CCC has won the Minor Counties Championship thrice in 1924, 1928 and 1953.

It has won the MCCA Knockout Trophy only once in 2004.

Team Roster

Name Role
Aftab Habib England batsman

Bet Play-Money for Fun