Somerset County Cricket Club is one of eighteen professional major clubs in English domestic cricket. Most of the home games of Somerset Cricket club are played at the County Cricket Ground in Taunton which has a maximum capacity of 6500. Cricket was introduced in Somerset as early as the end of the 17th century.

On 18th August 1875 the Somerset county cricket club was officially formed. The debut first class match played by the Somerset club was in 1882 and against the Lancashire cricket club. Due to the bad performance of the team it was demoted from the first class county championship cricket from 1886 to 1891.

After the Second World War the Somerset club participated in several championships throughout the 1950s but struggled to display a good performance and finished at the bottom of the table in most of them. To overcome this bad performance, players from different countries were given a place in the team. The star players of the team were Colin McCool and Bill Alley. As the years passed by the performance of this club got improved. In the county championships during the years 1963 and 1966 the Somerset club finished successfully at the 3rd rank. The team came very close to record their first ever championship victory in 2001 however eventually was placed the second.

Country England England
Founded 1875

Several noted players like Vivian Richards, Peter Wright, Graeme Smith, Marcus Threscothic, Ricky Ponting, Sunil Gavaskar, Martin Crowe, Jamie Cox, Brian Close, Andy Caddick and Ian Botham have been a part of the team at some point of their career. The current captain of the team is Justin Langer an Australian International cricketer.

During the 2007 season the Somerset Cricket Club qualified for the Division 1 championship under the captaincy of Justin Langer for the first time since 2002.

Major achievements

1 Twenty20 title

1 Pro40 title

3 Friends Provident titles