Nottinghamshire County Cricket Club is one of eighteen professional major clubs in English domestic cricket. Most of the home games of this club are played in West Bridgeford at the Trent Bridge cricket stadium. In Nottinghamshire cricket was introduced at the close of the 17th century.

In 1841 the Nottinghamshire county club was officially formed. However even before the club was established, the Nottingham County Cricket team played several domestic matches against teams like Sheffield and Sussex cricket clubs. In the early years during the 18th century the club could not experience much success.

There was a total makeover in the Nottinghamshire County Cricket team during the 1900s. The team was assisted by Albert Hallam and Tom Wass due to their attacking bowling and this culminated in the club winning the County Championship in the year 1907. A fine batsman called Sir Garfield Sobers was introduced to the team during the late 1960s. Sobers was a hard hitter of the ball and in less number of deliveries he scored more runs. During the 1960s while playing in a county championship match against the Glamorgan cricket club when Malcolm Nash was the bowler Sobers hit six sixes in an over which was a very great achievement at that point of time.

Country England England
City Nottinghamshire
Founded 1841

The year 2000 was a very disappointing one for Nottinghamshire Cricket Club. However the performance of the club was good in the 2004 season. Also in this season the team was promoted to division 1 of the Frizzel county championship. In the 2005 season the team was led by Stephen Fleming to the first ever county championship victory.

Several reputed players like Stephen Fleming, Kevin Pietersen, Chris Cairns, Chris Broad, Bruce French, Tim Robinson and William Clarke have been a part of the Nottinghamshire team at some point of their careers.

The Nottinghamshire Cricket Club played for the first time in the Twenty20 cup tournament in 2007 and they were the runners-up in this tournament.

Major achievements

1 Friends Provident title

1 Pro40 title

5 County championship titles