Northamptonshire County Cricket Club is one of eighteen major professional clubs in English domestic cricket. Most of the home games of this club are played at the county cricket stadium in Northampton. Northamptonshire was introduced to cricket at the end of the 17th century.

The Northamptonshire county cricket club was officially formed on 31st July 1878. From the 1890s up to the end of 1904 this club was successful in the Minor County Championships. In 1904 the club applied to play in first class cricket. In the next year the team made its debut in first class cricket where the debut first class match was played against Hampshire cricket county.

The team’s performance declined from 1934 to 1938. During this period the team participated in 99 games and could not win a single game. There was a total change in the team after the Second World War. The team was very successful in the one day tournaments. However despite a good performance the team could never win a county championship. The team managed to attain the second position in the county championship during the years 1957, 1965 and 1976.

Country England England
City Northamptonshire
Founded 1878

Several reputed players like David Capel, Peter Willey, Wayne Larkins, Rob Bailey, David Steele, Collin Milburn, David Larter and Allan Lamb have played a crucial role in the progress of the club in the past. In the recent years players like Monty Panesar, Lance Klusener, Kapil Dev, Andre Nel, Curtly Ambrose and Matthew Hayden have been associated with the club at some point of their career.

In the limited overs tournament the team that represents the Northamptonshire county is called as the Northants Steelbacks.

Major achievements

Won 2 Friends Provident trophy titles