Middlesex County Cricket Club is one of eighteen professional major clubs in English domestic cricket. Most of the home games of the Middlesex club are played at Lord’s Cricket Ground in St John’s Wood.

Middlesex was introduced to cricket during the end of the 16th century. During the 1800s Middlesex had experienced a total changeover in cricket. On 2nd February 1864 the Middlesex county cricket club was officially formed. In 1869 the debut game of the Middlesex club was played against the Sussex cricket county. In 1872 due to the bad conditions of the grounds that were given to the club the club was nearly folded down. The Middlesex county members made a vote appeal according to which the club was shifted in 1877 to a new ground called the Lord’s stadium which has a maximum capacity of 30000.

During the 19th century the Middlesex Cricket Club was in the early stages of progress. After the 19th century was over Middlesex witnesses a total alteration in their club cricket. The Middlesex Cricket club was successfully ranked at the 3rd position in the 2007 Victoria county championship.

Country England England
City Middlesex
Founded 1864

Several reputed players like Lance Klusener, Chaminda Vaas, Stephen Fleming, Glenn McGrath, Irfan Pathan, Ajit Agarkar, Michael Gatting, Phil Edmonds, Jack Robertson and Patsy Hendren have at some point or other of their career a part of the Middlesex county cricket club.

In the Pro40 final of the 2007 season Middlesex County Cricket Team was confronted by the Northamptonshire Steelbacks and Middlesex was successful in grabbing a victory and due to this it got entry into the Division 1 of the 2008 season.

In limited overs cricket tournament the team that represents the Middlesex County Cricket team is called as the Middlesex Crusaders.

Major achievements

1 Pro40 trophy title

4 Friends Provident trophy titles

12 County championship titles