Warwickshire County Cricket Club is one of eighteen professional major clubs in English domestic cricket. Warwickshire county was introduced to cricket in the late 17th century. On 8th April 1882 the Warwickshire county cricket club was officially formed. In May 1894 the debut first class match was played against the Nottinghamshire county cricket club by Warwickshire Cricket Club.

After the Warwickshire Cricket Club was established after a few initial years it ranked amongst the top first class counties like Surrey and Yorkshire. From 1900 to 1906 the team finished in the upper middle range of the table. However in 1907 the team was demoted to the lower part of the table.

The Warwickshire Cricket club was located in the last position in the year 1919 and till the 1930s showed very less improvement in their performance. However during the 1960s there was a considerable progress of the Warwickshire County Cricket team. The Warwickshire County Cricket team was ranked in the second position and was comprised of superstar bowler Lance Gibb.

Country England England
City Warwickshire
Founded 1836

Several reputed players like Heath Streak, Kumar Sangakkara, Brian Lara, Lance Gibb, Martin Donnelly, Shaun Pollock, Alan Donald, Paul Smith, Ashley Gilles, Ian Bell and Bob Barber have been associated with the Warwickshire club at some point of their career.

During 2006, Heath Streak was appointed by Warwickshire as the skipper for the next seasons. In the 2007 County Championship the team occupied a spot at the top of the table. However in the Twenty20 cup in 2007 Warwickshire could reach up to the quarter finals but finally lost to the Lancashire Cricket club.

Major achievements

5 Friends Provident titles

3 Pro40 titles

6 County championship titles