Leicestershire County Cricket Club is one of eighteen professional major clubs in English domestic cricket. The club plays all its home games at the Grace Road Stadium. During the early 18th century cricket was initiated in Leicestershire. In 1879 this club was established. However in this era very less cricketing clubs participated in official cricket tournaments.

After the Leicestershire Cricket Club was established a huge period of 70 years was utilized majorly in the development and progress of the club. In the 1950s the Leicestershire County Cricket team demonstrated very less progress however was certainly climbing the ladder. In the 1960s there was a gross alteration which resulted a remarkable success to the club. The captain Tony Lock led the Leicestershire Cricket Club to several triumphs.

The Leicestershire Cricket Club showed excellent performance and won both the county championships in the year 1996 and 1998. Several reputed players like Andy Roberts, Virender Sehwag, Anil Kumble, Brad Hodge, Michael Beaven, Hansie Cronje, Shahid Afridi, Mohammad Asif and Charles Dempster have been a part of Leicestershire team at some point of their career or other.

Country England England
City Leicestershire
Founded 1879

The Leicestershire Cricket Club was demoted from the county championship and the limited overs competition in 2003 for a period of 4 years. Most of the players left the club and hence when it returned to the Twenty20 cup in 2007 the club could demonstrate little improvement and the team did not qualify even for the knockout stages. In the recent 2008 team there is just one overseas player and a majority of the remaining players are Kolpak players.

In the limited overs cricket competition the Leicestershire County Cricket team which represents the Leicestershire county is called as Leicestershire Foxes.

Major achievements

2 Twenty20 cup titles

2 Pro40 titles

3 County championship titles