Glamoran County Cricket Club is one of eighteen professional major clubs in English domestic cricket. The club was formed in Cardiff on the 5th of July 1988. In Glamorgan the game of cricket was initiated in the 17th century.

In this club’s history during the initial stages this county club majorly took part in the Minor Counties Championships. Glamoran Cricket Club got the opportunity to play in its debut first class match in 1921 at the Cardiff Arms Park and against Sussex. In the very first match Glamorgan County Cricket team was successful in winning it by 23 runs. However Glamorgan County Cricket team had to face defeat in all the following 14 games excluding one more triumph.

During the 1948 County Championship the captain of Glamoran Cricket club was Wilf Wooller. His cricketing statistics played a major role in enabling his team to win the championship. The Glamorgan team also played excellent cricket during the 1960s as well as the 1990s and won the championship twice first in 1969 and second in 1997. In course of these championships the players who exhibited a crucial role in the huge achievements of the club were Michael Maynard and Tony Lewis. In first class cricket Michael Maynard was one of the most destructive batsman who finally retired in 2005.

Country England England
City Cadiff
Founded 1888

Several reputed players from different corners of the world have been associated with the Glamorgan county cricket club. Players like Ravi Shastri, Waqar Younis, Javed Miandad, Brendon McCullum, Sourav Ganguly and Jacques Kallis have been a part of this club at one time or the other.

During the current 2008 championship season the Glamorgan Cricket Club has played 6 games out of which it could win only 1 game while two games have been leveled and the club has lost 3 games.

Major achievements

Won 3 County championships

Won 3 Pro40 Trophies