The country Netherlands is represented by a national cricket team called the Dutch Cricket Team. A Royal Dutch Cricket Association called as Koninklijke Nederlandse Cricket Bond that is based in Nieuwegein in the center of the country handles the administration of the cricket team. This association is older than the reputed cricket clubs in New Zealand, Australia and the West Indies. In Netherlands cricket is being played since the 19th century and was regarded as a major sport in the nation during the 1860s.

In the 19th century during the Napoleonic Wars the British soldiers introduced cricket to the Netherlands. The first game of the Netherlands national team took place in 1881. The team played against Uxbridge Cricket Club XI however lost by an innings. In 1883 the Dutch Cricket Union was formed that comprised of 18 member clubs out of which 4 are still extant.

The Australia and West Indies team toured the Netherlands in the 1950s and additionally the Netherlands played their first match against Denmark. The Cricket Board was given a royal charter in 1958 and it was called as “Koninklijke Nederlandse Cricket Bond”. This name is retained even today. In 1964 the Netherlands had a three wicket win while playing against the Australian team and this was their first victory against a Test-playing country. Two years later the team was rewarded with associate membership.

Country Netherlands Netherlands
Founded 1881
Captain Scott Edwards
Coach Ryan Campbell

The Dutch could not progress beyond the first round in the first two ICC Trophy tournaments played in 1979 and 1982. However the team played well in the 1986 tournament and was runners-up to Zimbabwe. The Dutch participated in the NatWest trophy for the first time in 1995. In 1996 the Netherlands participated in the first European championship and was ranked second at the end of the tournament. Since this championship the Netherlands has participated in each tournament and has won the tournament in 1998 and 2000.

In 2001 Netherlands defeated Namibia in the final at Toronto and eventually won the ICC trophy and in this way got qualified for the 2003 World Cup. In the ICC trophy held in 2005 Netherlands was ranked the 5th and in this way qualified for the 2007 Cricket World Cup as well as gained one day International status up to the 2009 ICC World Cup qualifier.

Major Achievements

  • Won the 1998 European Championship
  • Won the 2001 ICC trophy

Match Schedule