Ireland is represented by a cricket team called as Ireland cricket team. Up to 1993 the Irish Cricket Union did not get elected to the ICC (International Cricket Council) owing to political difficulties. Cricket was introduced to Ireland by the English. The spread of cricket started in the 1830s and continued up to the early 1880s and several clubs still exist currently.

In the ICC trophy Ireland participated for the first time. However out of seven games Ireland lost four games and were ranked seventh in the trophy results. As the ICC Intercontinental Cup was introduced in 1994 this was an opportunity for Ireland to participate in first class cricket regularly. In 2004 Ireland was defeated by Scotland in a group match but in the next two editions of the tournament Ireland was triumphant.

Country Ireland Ireland
Founded 1855
Captain Andrew Balbirnie
Coach Heinrich Malan
ICC ODI Championship
ICC Test Championship
Women's World T20
Twenty20 Internationals
ICC Men's T20 World Cup

In the 2005 ICC trophy Ireland attained the second place and as a result it was qualified for the World Cup of 2007 as well as gained official One day International status till 2009. On 13 June 2006 the first official One day International of Ireland was played against England at Belfast. In this match while chasing England’s score of 301 Ireland finished with a good score of 263 for 9.

The squad for the 2007 World Cup was declared by the Irish Cricket Union in August 2006. In this tournament Ireland played quite well. On 15th March the first match against Zimbabwe was tied. In the next match Ireland defeated Pakistan by three wickets and thereby knocked Pakistan out of the competition. As Pakistan was the fourth-ranked team in the world this outcome is considered as one of the biggest shocks in International cricket history. Ireland further qualified for the Super 8 stage. In this stage Ireland was defeated in the first four matches against Australia, New Zealand, South Africa and England. Then Ireland won the match against Bangladesh by 74 runs. Bangladesh was a Test playing country and ranked 9th in the world. In the last match against Sri Lanka Ireland was defeated when 40 overs were remaining and by 8 wickets. As Ireland had a highly successful World Cup tour, when the team arrived in Dublin on 24th April 2007 they were given a heroes welcome.Bangladesh was a host to Ireland in March 2008 and the host won all three One day Internationals.

Major achievements

Won the 1996 and 2006 European ChampionshipWon the 2005, 2006 and 2007 Intercontinental CupIn 2007 Ireland was ranked 10th overall in the official ICC rankings

Team Roster

Name Role
James Cameron-Dow all-rounder
Curtis Campher all-rounder
Alex Cusack Ireland all-rounder
Gareth Delany all-rounder
John Anderson Ireland batsman
Andrew Balbirnie Ireland batsman
Mark Adair bowler
Andre Botha Ireland bowler
Peter Chase Ireland bowler
Peter Connell Ireland bowler