The national cricket team that represents Sri Lanka is called as the Sri Lankan cricket team. In 1975 this team played international cricket for the first time and in 1981 the Sri Lanka Cricket team was given Test status and this made Sri Lanka the eighth playing Test country. Before 1972 the country was called as Ceylon and this side took part in the M.J. Gopalan Trophy matches.

The greatest moment for Sri Lankan cricket was when they won the 1996 World Cup by defeating Australia a top ranked team in the final. The game style of Sri Lanka cricket was marked by highly aggressive batting during the first fifteen overs and this revolutionized One day International cricket. The strategy of the Sri Lankan batsmen became the hallmark of one day cricket.

Sri Lanka also put of a good performance in the 2006 NatWest series. Although the services of Muttiah Muralitharan and Marvan Atapattu were absent, Sanath Jayasuriya along with Chaminda Vaas, Tillakratne Dilshan, Russel Arnold, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene, Upul Tharanga, Farveez Maharoof, Dilhara Fernando and Lasith Malinga put up a good show. Sri Lanka managed a 5-0 whitewash of England which was its worst home defeat in 13 years. The Man of the Match as well as Man of the Series awards were given to Sanath Jayasuriya.

Country Sri Lanka Sri Lanka
Founded 1935
Nickname The Lions
Captain Frank Karunaratne
Coach Chris Silverwood

Since then, the team continued as a major force in international cricket, with ups and downs in certain periods. The Sri Lanka team did well to reach the finals of 2007 Cricket World Cup but lost to Australia in a rain affected match to become the runners up.

Major achievements

  • 50-over World Cup winners, 1996
  • World’s highest total in a Test match: 952-6 vs. India.

Match Schedule