The West Indian cricket team is a multi-national team that represents a sporting union of twelve English-speaking Caribbean countries as well as British dependencies. This team is colloquially called as the Windies.

West Indies got their first official international test grant in 1928. During the earlier period of playing Test cricket they had some good players but the West Indies Test Cricket team met with limited success. By the 1960s the team altered from a white-dominated to a black-dominated side. In the 1970s the Windies were acknowledged as unofficial world champions and the team maintained this reputation in the 1980s also. The team was known for the four man fast bowling attack supported by some very good batsmen. In 1984 the team had a rein of 11 continuous Test triumphs.

Many famous players like Curtly Ambrose, Ian Bishop, Jeff Dujon, Carl Hooper, Richie Richardson, Courtney Walsh, Jimmy Adams, Ridley Jacobs, Brian Lara, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Chris Gayle and Corey Collymore were all part of the team at one stage or the other.

Country West Indies West Indies
Founded 1928
Captain Nicolas Pooran
Coach Phil Simmons

Of the Twenty20 internationals the West Indies Cricket team have played only 7 of these. Their first match was against New Zealand which was the first ever tie to take place which was lost by the West Indies on a bowl-out. In the second match the West Indies defeated England at the Oval by 15 runs however in the return match played at the Brit Oval the West Indies were defeated by five wickets. The number four and five matches took place in the ICC World Twenty20 Cup in 2007 and both these were lost to Bangladesh and hosts South Africa.

The Twenty20 World-cup saw the West Indian team very less success. Due to their inconsistent and declining performance the West Indies were ruled out of the tournament on January 18th 2008.

Major Achievements

  • 2 50-over World Cup titles (1975, 1979)
  • 2 T20 World Cup titles (2012, 2016)
  • 1 ICC Champions Trophy title (2004)

Match Schedule