The England Cricket Team is the national cricket team which represents England and Wales. On 9th July 1939 an “All-England” team was formed that comprised of eleven players from various parts of England excluding Kent. This is the first example of a team that claimed to represent England. The England Cricket Team had a match against Kent which was regarded as the “Unconquerable County” and lost very narrowly. Such matches were repeated on numerous occasions in the past.

An All-England Eleven was created by William Clarke in 1846 which finally played against a United All-England Eleven and there were yearly matches from 1857 to 1866. England visited New Zealand in 1863–64 with the tour being the first to be organized by the Melbourne Cricket Club (MCC).

England Test Match resumed after the Second World War. There were many test match series that were held in between the period of 1950 to 1980 but as a result these matches were not considered first-class matches and were organized purely for commercial reasons. Keith Fletcher took over and lost a desperately dull series in India 1 - 0 in 1981/82. Bob Willis was then appointed as a captain who lead the England Cricket Test team for a 1 - 0 victory over India and handsome 2 - 1 win over Pakistan in 1982. They unfortunately lost the Ashes at 2 -1 on the 1982/3 tour, even after a 3 run win in Melbourne. The England Cricket Team lost in the semi-finals to India in the 1983 World Cup, who then won the finals.

Country England England
Founded 1877
Captain Benjamin Andrew Stokes
Coach Brendon McCullum

In the 1990s English cricket went on a slide down. They were more often than not beaten badly during the Ashes series, as they were spellbound by Shane Warne and later Glenn McGrath. They were declared the unofficial worst side in the world after the 1999 home series loss to New Zealand.

During the period between 2000-2007 the England Cricket Team saw many up’s and down’s. Nassir Hussain was then captain of the team, when they lost to Zimbabwe in South Africa in 2000. The very next summary, the England Cricket Test Team had able to win some matches and continued the spree for the next three test series which brought them a very first victory in 32 years of their history against West Indies and moreover and very well deserved win against Pakistan, where Thorpe and Hussain helped see the side to victory in the dark in Karachi and a 2-1 defeat of Sri Lanka.

In 2004, immediately after the first test match against South Africa out of the total of 5 Test series which ended in a draw, Michael Vaughan replaced Nasser Hussain who was then the captain. Under the captaincy of Vaughan,the series ended in a draw, after an Oval Test match. This 2-2 draw was one of the great matches England had seen since 1981 Headingley Test.

Major Achievements

  • Highest team test total: England Cricket Test team achieved 903 for 7 against Australia at The Oval stadium in 1938.
  • Highest team ODI total: The England ODI team achieved 391 for 4 (50 overs) against Bangladesh at Nottingham in 2005.
  • 2019 50-over World Cup winners
  • 2009 T20 World Cup winners