England Cricket Team

The England Cricket Team is the national cricket team which represents England and Wales. On 9th July 1939 an “All-England” team was formed that comprised of eleven players from various parts of England excluding Kent. This is the first example of a team that claimed to represent England. The England Cricket Team had a match against Kent which was regarded as the “Unconquerable County” and lost very narrowly. Such matches were repeated on numerous occasions in the past.

An All-England Eleven was created by William Clarke in 1846 which finally played against a United All-England Eleven and there were yearly matches from 1857 to 1866. England visited New Zealand in 1863–64 with the tour being the first to be organized by the Melbourne Cricket Club (MCC).

England Test Match resumed after the Second World War. There were many test match series that were held in between the period of 1950 to 1980 but as a result these matches were not considered first-class matches and were organized purely for commercial reasons. Keith Fletcher took over and lost a desperately dull series in India 1 - 0 in 1981/82. Bob Willis was then appointed as a captain who lead the England Cricket Test team for a 1 - 0 victory over India and handsome 2 - 1 win over Pakistan in 1982. They unfortunately lost the Ashes at 2 -1 on the 1982/3 tour, even after a 3 run win in Melbourne. The England Cricket Team lost in the semi-finals to India in the 1983 World Cup, who then won the finals.

In the 1990s English cricket went on a slide down. They were more often than not beaten badly during the Ashes series, as they were spellbound by Shane Warne and later Glenn McGrath. They were declared the unofficial worst side in the world after the 1999 home series loss to New Zealand.

During the period between 2000-2007 the England Cricket Team saw many up’s and down’s. Nassir Hussain was then captain of the team, when they lost to Zimbabwe in South Africa in 2000. The very next summary, the England Cricket Test Team had able to win some matches and continued the spree for the next three test series which brought them a very first victory in 32 years of their history against West Indies and moreover and very well deserved win against Pakistan, where Thorpe and Hussain helped see the side to victory in the dark in Karachi and a 2-1 defeat of Sri Lanka.

In 2004, immediately after the first test match against South Africa out of the total of 5 Test series which ended in a draw, Michael Vaughan replaced Nasser Hussain who was then the captain. Under the captaincy of Vaughan,the series ended in a draw, after an Oval Test match. This 2-2 draw was one of the great matches England had seen since 1981 Headingley Test.

In 2007 World Cup England was able to find considerable amount of success and were ranked 5th at the end of the tournament.

In the year 2008 they completed a three test tour back home against New Zealand. England achieved a 2-0 series win over New Zealand.

Major Achievements

  • Highest team test total: England Cricket Test team achieved 903 for 7 against Australia at The Oval stadium in 1938.
  • Highest team ODI total: The England ODI team achieved 391 for 4 (50 overs) against Bangladesh at Nottingham in 2005.

Show more less

Member Activity

mr Sporter

mr Sporter bet 268 credits @ 1.7 on England Cricket Team to win against Australia National Cricket Team -


manishsporty bet 50 credits @ 2.25 on Australia National Cricket Team to win against England Cricket Team -


manishsporty bet 100 credits @ 7.33 on Sri Lanka National Cricket Team to win against England Cricket Team -

Match Results

South Africa

South Africa won a game against England (556 - 449) in the ICC Test Championship -

New Zealand

New Zealand won a game against England (616 - 476) in the ICC Test Championship -

New Zealand

New Zealand won a game against England (615 - 550) in the ICC Test Championship -


England played a game against New Zealand that ended in a draw (146 - 146) Twenty20 Internationals -

Latest Articles

Australia elect to bat in ODI decider against India

Australia elect to bat in ODI decider against India

Australia have won the toss and elected to bat, making one change with Josh Hazlewood coming in for a “sore” Kane Richardson for the decisive One Day International against India in Bangalore.The three-match India-Australia ODI series is locked at 1-1 after the hosts won the second clash by 36 runs in Rajkot.Australia captain Aaron Finch had won the... Continue reading

Stokes & Cummins win top gongs at ICC Awards

Stokes & Cummins win top gongs at ICC Awards

Ben Stokes and Patrick Cummins were the big winners as the International Cricket Council announced its annual awards on Wednesday Continue reading

Kohli drops down order as India-Australia ODI series begins

Kohli drops down order as India-Australia ODI series begins

India have named Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan and KL Rahul all to play while Marnus Labuschagne will make his One-Day International debut for Australia when the teams meet in Mumbai on Tuesday.Australia skipper Aaron Finch won the toss at Wankhede Stadium and elected to bowl, with the Aussies hoping to repeat last year’s 3-2 ODI series victory in I... Continue reading

Root: Stokes is a born match-winner

Root: Stokes is a born match-winner

England skipper Joe Root has heaped praise on match-winner Ben Stokes after his side won the Second Test over South Africa by 189 runs in Cape Town Continue reading

Team Roster

Name Position
Moeen Munir Ali all-rounder
Zafar Shahaan Ansari all-rounder
Timothy Thomas Bresnan all-rounder
Stuart Broad all-rounder
James Dalrymple all-rounder
Liam Dawson all-rounder
Joseph Liam Denly all-rounder
Vic Marks all-rounder
Liam Edward Plunkett all-rounder
Adil Rashid all-rounder
Joseph Edward Root all-rounder
Benjamin Andrew Stokes all-rounder
Christopher Woakes all-rounder
Gary Simon Ballance batsman
Denis Compton batsman
Alastair Cook batsman
Alexander Hales batsman
Haseeb Hameed batsman
Keaton Kent Jennings batsman
Simon Jones batsman
Robert Key batsman
Adam Lyth batsman
Eoin Morgan batsman
Sam David Robson batsman
Jason Roy batsman
James Taylor batsman
Marcus Trescothick batsman
James Michael Vince batsman
James Anderson bowler
Jacob Timothy Ball bowler
Gareth Jon Batty bowler
Danny Briggs bowler
Christopher David James Dent bowler
Steven Finn bowler
Simon Christopher Kerrigan bowler
Tymal Solomon Mills bowler
William Rankin bowler
Chris Schofield bowler
Reece Topley bowler
David Jonathan Willey bowler
Christopher Charles Benham wicket-keeper
Samuel William Billings wicket-keeper
Jos Buttler wicket-keeper

Latest Forum Posts

Topic Replies Last Post
Top ranked? 2
Wash Out 4
New to Cricket 6
Darren Gough Retires 3
Vaughan Taking a Break 1