United Arab Emirates

History records the first official match played by the UAE national cricket team in February 1976 against Pakistan International Airlines at the Sharjah Cricket Association Stadium. Before that Commonwealth troops like the British Royal Air Force played in the now called UAE during World War II. After 1960, UAE cricket got fresh blood from the Asians settlers who had a passion for the game.

At the first match played in 1976, rain played rouge and the match was abandoned half-way in the second innings. The Sharjah Cricket Association Stadium was constructed by accepting a bounty from the wealthy locals as an investment. The stadium organized its first major even at the 1984 Asia Cup with Pakistan, India and Sri Lanka battling out for the cup. Today, the venue has hosted more than 200 one-day international matches and 4 test matches.

In 1989, the Emirates Cricket Board (ECB) was formed which eventually gained an ICC membership in the same year. The following year, they jumped ahead to become the associate member of ICC.

The UAE national team played their maiden one-day international match against Pakistan and India at the Australasia Cup in 1994 played in UAE. The early years saw them achieve limited success as they repeatedly finished last in various multi-nation series. The year 1996 gave a glimpse of improvement with the team losing the finals of ACC Trophy against Bangladesh. The same result against the same team was repeated in the 1998 ACC Trophy.

In 2000, after UAE was granted full ICC membership in 1989, the team won the ACC Trophy after beating Nepal and Bangladesh. The team was able to repeat the match-winning performance at the 2002 ACC Trophy also. In the 21st century, UAE has been successful in grabbing 4 successive ACC Trophies but has had moderate success with the other tournaments. Of the 11 one-day international matches playes, UAE has won only 1 while losing the rest 10. UAE has won 3 of the 16 first-class amtches played and 15 of the 41 List A matches played till date.

Khurram Khan stands as the current captain for the team with Amjad Ali guarding the stumps.

Major achievements

  • The team has won 4 consecutive ACC Trophy finals from 2000 till 2006.
  • They won the ICC Trophy played in 1994.
  • The team qualified to play the 1996 Cricket World Cup.

Show more less

  • Improve This Page Latest edit by mr Sporter
  • Share this page:

Member Activity


FB1 gave a rating of 8 to United Arab Emirates -

mr Sporter

mr Sporter gave a rating of 8 to United Arab Emirates -

Match Results


Australia won a game against United Arab Emirates (119 - 117) in the Twenty20 Internationals -

1 love and 0 hates
United Arab Emirates

United Arab Emirates won a game against Scotland (300 - 299) in the ICC ODI Championship -


Scotland won a game against United Arab Emirates (249 - 218) in the ICC ODI Championship -


Ireland won a game against United Arab Emirates (301 - 234) in the ICC ODI Championship -

Latest Articles

Australia Ease to a Win over UAE

Australia Ease to a Win over UAE

Australia beat United Arab Emirates by seven wickets in their one-off T20 International, held in Abu Dhabi Continue reading

Cricket article sidebar

South Africa v Pakistan live World Cup 2015

The vital Pool B match in the ICC’s World Cup at Eden Park in Auckland on Saturday, between South Africa and Pakistan may yet be ruined by inclement weather Continue reading

Watch the Indian Premier League 2014 live on TV & online

Watch the Indian Premier League 2014 live on TV & online

There may have been issues surrounding the staging of IPL 7, and the proposed venues, due to the logistics of the tournament coinciding with elections in India, but there will be more media coverage than in any of the previous six editions, of the biggest and richest T20 competition in the world.The tournament will start in the UAE on April 16th, a... Continue reading

Eoin Morgan opts out of Indian Premier League

Eoin Morgan opts out of Indian Premier League

Middlesex batsman Eoin Morgan, who has developed a reputation as something of a limited overs specialist in recent seasons, has decided to withdraw his name from the Indian Premier League (IPL) auction, that is scheduled to take place on Wednesday and Thursday of this week.Dublin-born Morgan, who lost his England Test match place, after a disastrou... Continue reading

Team Roster

Name Position
Rohan Mustafa batsman
Qais Farooq batsman
Zahoor Khan bowler
Swapnil Prakash Patil wicket-keeper
Mohammad Shahzaib Hasan Khan batsman
Rameez Shahzad batsman
Muhammad Kaleem batsman
Wasim Bari bowler
Arshad Ali all-rounder
Haroon Iftikhar batsman

Latest Forum Posts

Topic Replies Last Post