The Perth Scorchers was established in 2011 as one of the franchise team in the Australia’s newly announced Twenty20 cricket competition called as the Big Bash League. The Scorchers can be recognized by their orange coloured kit.

The team has been made up of some of the renowned players including Herchelle Gibbs, Michael Hussey, Simon Katich, Luke Pomersbach, Paul Collingwood, Marcus North, Luke Ronchi, but is nowadays led by Adam Voges and Mitch Marsh.

The Scorchers lost both the BBL01 and BBL02 finals at the WACA Ground, before capturing their maiden title at their third attempt, triumphing over the Hobart Hurricanes in February 2014. The title ended an almost decade-long wait for WA cricket.

The club have also competed in three Champions League T20 campaigns, although they’ve never progressed beyond the group stage, despite an impressive 2014 performance where they won two games and pushed IPL pair Kolkata Knight Riders and Chennai Super Kings.

Country Australia Australia
City Perth
Founded 2011
Ground Optus Stadium
Captain Mitchell Marsh
Coach Adam Voges