Gauteng cricket team was initially known as Transvaal Cricket team and is the first class cricket team of Gauteng province. Gauteng was initially called as Transvaal and is situated in South Africa.

For SuperSport Series, the team had to merge with another team, namely the North West team, which was initially known as Western Transvaal. With this, a new team got formed, the Highveld Lions, or the Lions.

Country South Africa South Africa
City Transvaal

The SuperSport Series were known initially as the Currie Cup, post which they came to be known as the Castle Cup. The Gauteng cricket team was the most successful team of the South African domestic side. They won 25 times, with their successful time from the 1980s, when they were referred to as the “Mean Machine”.

This team was known as the Transvaal from 1890 to 1997, forming part of the Lions from 2004. Some of the players who had played an active part in this team include, Clive Rice, Sylvester Clarke, Alvin Kallicharran, Hugh Page, Henry Fotheringham and many others.

The Currie Cup was won 25 times by this team since 1889 till 1990. They won the Standard Bank Cup six times, the South African Airways Provincial Three Day Challenge once in 2006-07 and the following year, the South African Airways Provincial One Day Challenge. This team won the Gillette/Nissan Cup 9 times.