The Free State cricket team was initially known as the Orange Free State cricket team. This team is the first class cricket team that represents the Free State province, which was known by the name, Orange Free State till 1995. Based in South Africa, the team merged with Griqualand West for SuperSport Series, thus forming one team, the Eagles cricket team franchise.

The team won the Currie Cup thrice in 1992-93, 1993-94 and in 1997-98. The Standard Bank Cup was also won four times, in 1988-89, 1993-94, 1994-95 and in 1995-96. The team even won the South African Airways Provincial One Day Challenge award once in 2004-05. Subsequently, they won the Gillette/Nissan Cup twice in 1991-92 and in 1992-93.

Country South Africa South Africa
City Free State

From 1904 to 1995, this team was referred to as the Orange Free State and it has been an active part of the Eagles since 2004.