The Jharkhand Cricket Team is a First-Class Cricket team representing Jharkhand in India.

It was founded in 2004 and is owned by the Jharkhand Cricket Association. They made their First-Class cricket debut the year they were founded. It was against Saurashtra at the Madhavrao Scindia Cricket Ground, Rajkot.

Country India India
City Bihar
Founded 2004
Ground JSCA International Stadium Complex, Ranchi
Coach Shiv Shankar Rao

Since their founding, they are yet to win a Ranji Trophy but in the 2010-2011 season, they won the Vijay Hazare Trophy.

Naming History

The team was originally called the Bihar Cricket Team. When the old state of Bihar was split into Bihar and Jharkhand, the old Bihar team was renamed the Jharkhand Cricket Team.

The team chose to go with Jharkhand as most of the existing infrastructure was in the area.

Home Grounds and Notable Players

The team calls the JSCA International Stadium Complex in Ranchi, India their home grounds. It has a seating capacity of 50,000 people.

Some of the notable cricketers who have played for the team include Mahendra Singh Dhoni. He was the former captain of the Indian National Cricket Team.

Other players who have played for the team include Saurabh Tiwary, Vijay Bharadwaj, and Sanjeev Sinha.

As of 2023, the team captain is Virat Singh and their coach is Shiv Shankar Rao.