Tamil Union Cricket & Athletic Club

Country Sri Lanka Sri Lanka
City Colombo
Founded 1899
Website tamilunioncricket.com

The Tamil Union Cricket & Athletic Club> is a first class cricket team which is based in Colombo in Sri Lanka. The club plays their home matches at Paikiasothy Saravanamuttu Stadium. The seating capacity of the stadium is around 15,000 people.

Founded in 1899, the club, since its inception been the forefront of Sports Promotion in the Island. The club contributed in initializing the P. Sara Oval for inducting Sri Lanka to test cricket matches. Other than that, the club also produced two undisputable cricketing champions of Sri Lanka, Mahadevan Sathasivam, the finest batsman the country has ever produced and Muttiah Muralidaran, who is the irreplaceable and irrepressible bowler in the world.

The present squad of the team at the time of the Premier Championship in 2008-09 includes Muthumudalige Pushpakumara (captain of the team), Muttiah Muralitharan, Lanka de Silva, Suranga Lakmal, Jeewan Mendis, Viraj Perera, Gihan Rupasinghe, Isuru Udana and many others.

Major Achievements

The Tamil Union Cricket & Athletic Club has won the Premier Trophy twice in 1945-46 and in 1950-51 respectively. Other than that, the club has even won the Premier Limited Overs Tournament once in 1999-00 season.

  • Improve This Page Latest edit by MaxD

Team Roster

Name Role
Dhananjaya Maduranga de Silva Sri Lanka all-rounder
Balapuwaduge Jeevan Mendis Sri Lanka all-rounder
Subasinghe Ashan Priyanjan Sri Lanka all-rounder
Gayan Wijekoon Sri Lanka all-rounder
Suranga Lakmal Sri Lanka bowler
Henry Osinde Canada bowler
Chanaka Welegedera Sri Lanka bowler

Bet Play-Money for Fun