The Nondescripts Cricket Club>, initialized as NCC, is a first class cricket team which is based in Colombo in Sri Lanka. Founded in 1888, Nondescripts name is derived with the fact that the club is open to anyone unlike other clubs which are Colombo based like the Moors Sports Club, Sinhalese Sports Club and also the Tamil Union Cricket & Athletic Club. All these clubs were aligned a specific ethnic group at one time.

The team plays cricket matches at the Nondescripts Cricket Club Ground. Formerly called as the Maitland Place, the ground has a capacity of 2000 people and has end names of SSC Ground End and Tennis Court End. Though this ground has never hosted any international cricket, it has a rich history of having some of the best international players. Home to some of the finest players of Sri Lanka like Aravinda de Silva, Ravi Ratnayeke and Kumar Sangakkara, the ground honors board highlights the success of the Nondescripts Cricket Club in producing some of the best high quality players.

Country Sri Lanka Sri Lanka
City Colombo
Founded 1888

The coach of this team is Kanchana Gunawardene. This club has won around 15 Premier Trophies and four Premier Limited overs Tournament. So far, the club hasn’t won any Twenty20 tournament.

Major Achievements

The Nondescripts Cricket Club has won the P Saravanamuttu Trophy 9 times, which were won in 1952-53, 1953-54, 1954-55, 1956-57, 1957-58, 1960-61, 1969-70, 1970-71 and in 1975-76. Other than this trophy title, the club won the Robert Senanayake Trophy twice, in 1976-77 and in 1978-79. Moreover, the team won the Lakspray Trophy twice in 1985-86 and in 1988-89 respectively.

The P Saravanamuttu Trophy was won once by this club in 1993-94 season with the Premier Trophy title once in 2000-01. Apart from all these awards, the club received the Under 23 Trophy in 2008-09 and in 2009-10 season too.