Basnahira South cricket team

Country Sri Lanka Sri Lanka
City Colombo

The Basnahira South cricket team> is considered as one of the five provincial cricket teams that structures the Sri Lankan domestic cricket scenario. The team represents the south region of Western province and is based in Colombo. This team participates in the two provincial matches, one is the first class cricket event, the Inter-Provincial tournament and the other is the Twenty20 event, the Inter-Provincial Twenty20.

The captain of the team is Tillakaratne Dilshan and the home ground is Sinhalese Sports Club Ground & Tyronne Fernando Stadium situated in Moratuwa, with a seating capacity of 10,000. This team played their first class debut in 1992, the year of its foundation with North Western Province at Welagedara Stadium.

Though the Basnahira South Cricket team did not qualify for the finals of Inter-Provincial tournament in 2010, they performed well in the Inter Provincial Twenty20 in 2008-09. Some of the present Test cricketers of this team include Chamara Silva, Malinda Warnapura and Prasanna Jayawardene.

  • Improve This Page Latest edit by MaxD

Team Roster

Name Role
Suranga Lakmal Sri Lanka bowler

Bet Play-Money for Fun