The Plymouth Cricket Club> was formed in the year 1857 in the city of Plymouth U.K. It is one of the oldest cricket clubs in the U.K. Initially the club played at fields of The Hoe, from here in 1863 they moved to South Devon Place. The club was inactive from 1905, then it was reorganized in the year of 1919, and they played only away games at the time. After the reformation the club played host to the major teams in the County league. The club also hosted some Devon matches. The original records of the team’s performance were destroyed due to a fire broke out in the club’s pavilion, after that the club also sustained some losses at the time of World War II.

The Plymouth Cricket Cub has teams in seniors, colts and ladies. The club encourages and is open to people of all ages. Currently the club has more than 400 active members and plays 8 senior teams in different leagues and formats. At present Callum Whittaker is the captain of 1st XI, Tom Hughes in the captain of 2nd XI, Al Stewart and Joseph Cunningham are captains of 3rd and 4th XI respectively with Laura Foley, captain of Women’s 1st XI.

Country England England
City Plymouth
Founded 1857

Plymouth CC is one of the few clubs who manage a ladies team in Devon. The club currently manages 6 junior teams and also actively offers coaching for 120+ junior members. The club also lends its ground facility to other wandering teams who don’t have their own playing facility.

The club is also ahead in public activities like providing cricket coaching to 40 city primary schools, in aggregate they coached around 5000 children. In addition to this the club also hosts school festivals and some cricketing tournaments also.