The Railways Cricket Team or also called as the Indian Railways were playing successfully in the Ranji Trophy in recent years. However, most of their cricket days were spent in unsuccessful endeavors in order to win the tournament.

Some of the popular cricketers who play for the Railways Cricket Team are Nari Contractor, Sanjay Bangar, Murali Kartik and such players.

Country India India
City New Delhi
Founded 1930
Ground Karnail Singh Stadium
Coach Dinesh Lad

Major Achievements

The Indian Railways met very little success in the Ranji Trophy and was forgotten by Ranji Trophy enthusiasts. Further, in recent years, the team has emerged with new talents and skills, due to which they won the trophy twice and even, became the runners-up since 2000. Other than that, this team has been quite successful in the Irani Trophy where they backed up with two Ranji wins and two Irani victories.

With their recent victories, the success was possible with the likes of Gautam Gambhir, Sreenath and such players.