Basnahira South

Sport Cricket
Country Sri Lanka Sri Lanka
Home town Colombo
Founding year 1992
Website srilankacri...

The Basnahira South cricket team is the one representing the southern region of the Western Province in Sri Lanka. The team is based in Colombo and is one of the five major teams which constitute the domestic cricket structure in Sri Lanka. The team’s home ground is the Sinhalese Sports Ground as well as the Tyronne Fernando Stadium which bear the capacity of 10,000 seats for the spectators.

Presently the team is led by skipper Tillakaratne Dilshan who is also a world-renowned player for the Sri Lankan national team. The team regularly takes part at the Inter-Provincial Tournament which is a first-class tournament. Earlier, the team also took part at the Inter-Provincial Twenty20 competition which is no longer held in the country. The team is sponsored by a global printing and imaging solutions corporation, Lexmark.

Along with Dilshan other well known players that are currently a part of the team are Prasanna Jayawardene, Chamara Silva and Malinda Warnapura.

Major achievements


  • Improve This Page Latest edit by MaxD
  • Share this page:

Member Activity


FB1 gave a rating of 6 to Basnahira South -

Latest Forum Posts

Topic Replies Last Post