The New South Wales Breakers are the women’s team that represents the state of New South Wales in Australia. The team participates at the Women’s National Cricket League and was founded back in 1996. The Breakers have been the most successful team at the National Cricket League and have won eleven of the thirteen seasons that they took part in.

The team has successfully won the Women’s National Cricket League 6 times in a row from 1996-97 till 2001-02. The Breakers have emerged victorious in 103 matches of the total 130 matches that they have played. The team has lost 26 of the total 130 matches while one match had ended up in a draw.

Country Australia Australia
City New South Wales
Founded 1996

Currently the team plays under the captaincy of Lisa Sthalekar who is a right handed batsman and a right armed of break bowler. The team plays their home games at the Sydney Cricket Ground as well as the Bankstown Oval ground, both in Sydney. The current capacity of the grounds is 40,000 people.

Other players that are part of the current squad include Sarah Andrews, Alex Backwell, Kale Backwell, Sarah Aley, Sarah Coyte, Nicole Goodwin, Corinne Hall, Alyssa Healy, Sharon Milanta, Erin Osborne, Ellyse Perry, Leah Pounton and Angela Reakes.

Major Achievements

The Breakers have won 11 Women’s National Cricket League titles and were runners up in 2 Women’s National Cricket League tournaments.