Namibia national cricket team

Country Namibia Namibia
Founded 1954

Representing the Republic of Namibia, the Namibia cricket team is governed by Cricket Namibia. The first reference of cricket match being played in Namibia dates back to 1915 when South African soldiers played against the locals. The South Africans being fond of cricket set up many clubs in Namibia. In 1990, past Independence, Namibia won three times against the Gloucestershire County Cricket Club in a series of matches.

Namibian Cricket Board was granted associate membership of ICC (International Cricket Council) in 1992. In 1994, while participating in the ICC Trophy for the first time, Namibia finished second to last ahead of Denmark. Visiting teams Malaysia and Italy had limited success against Namibian team with one draw and losing 3 three-day matches in totals.

In 1997, Namibia participated at the ICC Trophy held in Malaysia but was unable to mark notable success and finished 15th overall. At a triangular series with Malaysia and Bangladesh, Namibia was declared a co-winner when the finals against Bangladesh were ruined due to rain. Namibia qualified to play the 2003 Cricket World Cup in 2001 when they performed well at the ICC Trophy in Canada. In 2002, they hosted the ICC 5 Nations Challenge and finished 4th overall.

Till the present day, Namibia has played 6 one-day international matches and lost all of them. Amongst the 15 first class cricket matches played, Namibia has won 7. Namibia has also played 40 List A matches and won 14 of them.

Major achievements


Team Roster

Name Role
Karl Birkenstock Namibia all-rounder
Sarel Francois Burger Namibia all-rounder
Kola Bernie Burger Namibia all-rounder
Christopher Coombe Namibia all-rounder
Jason Davidson Namibia all-rounder
Stephanus Theodorus Ackermann Namibia batsman
Steven Baard Namibia batsman
Nikko Davin Namibia batsman
Marius Delport Namibia batsman
Michiel Daniel du Preez Namibia wicket-keeper

Bet Play-Money for Fun