Wayamba Cricket Team

Country Sri Lanka Sri Lanka
City Welagedara Stadium, Sri Lanka
Founded 1990
Website srilankacricket.lk

The Wayamba cricket team is a Sri Lankan team from Kurunegala that represents North Western Province. The team was named after the Sinhalese translation of “North West” meaning “Wayambe”. The team selects its players from the Sri Lanka Premier Trophy. The team participates in Inter-Provincial Tournament and Inter-Provincial Twenty20, the two first class provincial tournaments in Sri Lanka.

Wayamba cricket team played for every season of the provincial tournaments right from the season that it was founded till 1994-95 season. The tournament suffered a lapse of nearly 10 years after which it was invigorated in 2004, but the Wayamba team was not included in the tournament. In the year 2007-08, the team was again incorporated in the Inter-Provincial Limited overs tournament. The Wayamba team went ahead to win the title under the noteworthy captaincy of Mahela Jayawardene.

The Wayamba cricket team is also participating in the 2009 Champions Leage Twenty20, playing as Wayamba Elevens. The squad includes star players like Shalika Karunanayake , Mahela Udawatte, Sameera Soysa.

Admirable players like Jehan Mubarak, also the captain for the team, Ajantha Mendis, Mahela Jayawardene are some of the players currently playing for the Wayamba team.

In the Inter-Provincial tournament of 2009, Wayamba were the runners-up after a defeat by 10 wickets in the finals against Basnahira North team. The Inter-Provincial Twenty20 tournament cup rested in the hands of the Wayamba team after they won against Basnahira South team.

Ashoka Pathirana is currently manages the team which is being coached under Majoj Abeywickrama. Lanks De Silva serves as an assistant coach to Abeywickrama.

Major achievements

The Wayamba team has won Inter-Provincial Limited Over Tournament in 2007-08.

The team also won the Inter-Provincial Twenty20 Tournament twice 2007-08, and again in 2008-09.

Team Roster

Name Role
Farveez Maharoof Sri Lanka all-rounder
Mohamed Maharoof Sri Lanka all-rounder
Thisara Perera Sri Lanka all-rounder
Frank Karunaratne Sri Lanka batsman
Mahela Udawatte Sri Lanka batsman
Michael Vandort Sri Lanka batsman
Ajantha Mendis Sri Lanka bowler
Chanaka Welegedera Sri Lanka bowler

Bet Play-Money for Fun