Country South Africa South Africa
City Bloemfontein
Website eaglescricket.co.za
SuperSport Series

The combined Griqualand West and Free State first class cricket team in South Africa is called as the Gestetner Diamond Eagles team. This team takes part in the SuperSport Series as well as limited over competitions like Standard Bank Twenty20 and MTN Domestic Championship.

The home venue of this team is the Outsurance Oval in Bloemfontein. This ground has a capacity of 20,000.

The captain and batsman of the current squad is Boeta Dippenaar. The other batsmen are Rilee Rossouw, Reeza Hendricks, Dean Elgar, Loots Bosman and Ryan Bailey. The all rounders are Shadley van Schalkwyk, Ryan McLaren, Alan Kruger, Con De Lange and Jandre Coetzee. The bowlers are Thandi Tshabalala, Mario Saliwa, Victor Mpitsang, Dillon Du Preez and CJ De Villiers. The wicket keepers are Morne van Wyk and Adrian McClaren.

In the SuperSport series in 2009, the Eagles have played the following matches. On 26th February, the Eagles clashed against Nashua Cape Cobras at Sahara Park Newlands in Cape Town. The Eagles won by 80 runs. On 5th March 2009, the Eagles and Chevrolet Warriors contested at Outsurance Oval. The Eagles won by 3 wickets. The bizhub Highveld Lions and Eagles competed at Liberty Life Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg on 12th March 2009. The Lions won by 9 runs. On 26th March 2009 at Outsurance Oval, there was a match between Eagles and Nashua Titans. The Titans won by 10 wickets.

Major achievements

Since South Africa planned to use a franchise system for all domestic competitions, the most successful team is the Gestetner Diamond Eagles. This team has won the Pro20 Series in 2003-04 and 2005-06. It has won the MTN Championship in 2004-05 and 2005-06. The team shared the SuperSport Series in 2004-05 and won it in 2007-08.

Team Roster

Name Role
Dillon du Preez South Africa all-rounder

Bet Play-Money for Fun