In South Africa, the combined Western Province and Boland first class team was called as Western Province Boland during the 2004-05 season. From the 2005-06 season onwards, this team was named as Nashua Cape Cobras. This name was further abbreviated to Cape Cobras or Cobras.

The Cape Cobras participate in the SuperSport Series, Standard Bank Twenty20 competitions and the MTN Domestic Championship. The team has 2 home venues – Newlands, Cape Town and Boland Bank Park, Paarl. The capacity of Sahara Park in Newlands is 25,000.

Some of the renowned players of this team are Mark Boucher, Monde Zondeki, Charl Willoughby, Graeme Smith, Andrew Puttick, Ashwell Prince, Jacques Kallis, Herschelle Gibbs, Jean Paul Duminy and Paul Adams.

Some of the players in the current squad are as follows – Batsmen are Richard Levi, Herschelle Gibbs, Jean-Paul Duminy, Henry Davids and Brendon Adams. Bowlers are Abdul Temoor, Pepler Sandri, Francois Plaatjies, Charl Langeveldt and Claude Henderson. Wicketkeepers are Lee Walters and Ryan Canning. All rounders are Vernon Philander, Rory Kleinveldt, Sybrand Engelbrecht and Justin Ontong.

Country South Africa South Africa
Founded 2005

In the year 2009, the Cape Cobras have played the following games in the SuperSport Series. On 26th February 2009, Nashua Cape Cobras and Gestetner Diamond Eagles clashed against each other at Sahara Park Newlands, Cape Town. Eagles won this match by 80 runs. Nashua Cape Cobras competed against Nashua Titans at Boland Park, Paarl on 5th March 2009. The Titans won by an innings and 41 runs. On 12th March 2009, Nashua Dolphins and Nashua Cape Cobras competed at Pietermaritzburg Oval, Pietermaritzburg. This match resulted in a draw. Nashua Cape Cobras contested against Highveld Lions on 26th March 2009. The venue was Senwes Park, Potchefstroom. Cobras won this match by 6 wickets.

Major achievements

The Cape Cobras has won the MTN championship in 2006-07 and the Pro20 series in 2008-09.