Dhaka Division Cricket Team

Country Bangladesh Bangladesh
City Dhaka
Founded 2000
National Cricket League of Bangladesh

In Bangladesh, the Dhaka Division region is represented by a cricket team called as Dhaka Division Cricket Team. The home ground of this team is the Dhanmondi Cricket Stadium in Dhaka.

The top 5 batsmen who have scored maximum runs for this team in first class cricket are Sajjad Kadir (1635), Rashidul Haque (1510), Mehrab Hossain (1373), Jahangir Alam (1263) and Halim Shah (1173). The top 5 bowlers in terms of wickets taken are as follows – Arafat Sunny (84), Mohammad Rafique (83), Fahim Muntasir (73), Khaled Mahmud (58) and Naimur Rahman (54).

When the Dhaka Team won two continuous titles in 2003-04 and 2004-05, they were unbeaten throughout the tournament. In the 2005-06 season, they were unbeaten in the first 4 matches, but could not win any of the remaining 6 matches and further Rajshahi Division won the title.

In the 2000-01 season, the Dhaka Team was last and fourth in their group. Out of all the 8 competing teams, it had the lowest point total. The team won 9 matches and drew 1 match in the 2001-02 season. In the 2002-03 season, the team was defeated in the last match to Khulna Division. Out of the 10 matches played in the 2003-04 season, the Dhaka team won 5 matches, drew 4 matches and lost 1 match. The Dhaka Division and Sylhet Division had the same number of points but on the basis of runs per wicket, the Dhaka Division won the title.

Major achievements

The Dhaka Division Cricket Team won the National Cricket League 4 times in 2001-02, 2003-04, 2004-05 and 2006-07. It won the One day Cricket League in 2006-07.

Team Roster

Name Role
Mohammad Mahmudullah Bangladesh all-rounder
Shuvagoto Hom Chowdhury Bangladesh batsman
Raqibul Hasan Bangladesh batsman
Mosharraf Hossain Bangladesh batsman
Mosaddek Hossain Bangladesh batsman
Sahan Hewa Thilina Kandamby Sri Lanka batsman
Javed Omar Bangladesh batsman
Shahadat Hossain Bangladesh bowler

Bet Play-Money for Fun