Derbyshire County Cricket Club

Country England England
City Derbyshire
Founded 1870

Derbyshire County Cricket Club represents the historic county of Derbyshire. The home ground of this club is the County Cricket Ground in the city of Derby. In the past, it was called as Racecourse Ground. This has a capacity of 9,500.

The first first-class match of this team was contested on 26th and 27th May 1871 against Lancashire CCC at Old Trafford Cricket Ground. Since then the maximum runs have been scored for this team by Kim Barnett (23854). He is followed by Denis Smith (20516) and Derek Morgan (17842). The maximum first class wickets have been claimed by Les Jackson (1670). The other notable wicket takers have been Cliff Gladwin (1536) and Billy Bestwick (1452).

Some of the players in the 2009 squad are as follows – Batsmen are Daniel Birch, Paul Borrington, Wavell Hinds, Stuart Law and Daniel Redfern. All rounders are Graham Wagg, Greg Smith, Garry Park and Tim Groenewald. Wicket keepers are Frederick Klokker and James Pipe. Bowlers are Jonathan Clare, Ian Hunter, Charl Langeveldt and Mark Lawson.

In the initial seasons, the club produced some good results but before the 1888 season had to face miserable results and consequently was demoted from first class status. In 1894, it regained this status and took part in the County Championship again in 1895. Up to 1925, this club was one of the weakest counties. Thereafter, a good team gradually developed and in 1936 this club won the County Championship. Out of the 28 matches, Derbyshire won 13 matches and 5 of these on 1st innings. In the post war years, things did not turn out as expected for this team. Kim Barnett became the captain in 1983 and further the team was rarely uncompetitive.

Major achievements

Derbyshire County Cricket club won the Benson and Hedges Cup in 1993, the National League in 1990, the FP Trophy in 1981 and the County Championship in 1936.

Team Roster

Name Role
Jonathan Luke Clare England batsman
Lee James Goddard England wicket-keeper

Bet Play-Money for Fun