The Madhya Pradesh Cricket Team is a domestic cricket team based in India. They represent the state of Madhya Pradesh. The team was formerly known as the Holkar Cricket Team.

They have won the Ranji Trophy five times and the Willis Trophy once.

Club Profile

The team was established in 1950. It is owned by the Madhya Pradesh Cricket Association. Its primary home ground is the Holkar Stadium with a capacity of 30,000 people. Their secondary grounds are the Captain Roop Singh Stadium with an 18,000 seating capacity.


It started life as the Holkar Cricket Team, named after the Holkar Dynasty. They played in competitions managed by King Yashwantrao Holkar II.

Under this name, the team played in the Ranji Trophy. They won it four times as Holkar. They were also runner-ups six times.

In the 1950-1951 season, the team started working under the Madhya Pradesh name after they were absorbed by the area.

In 1950, they made their First Cass Cricket debut on their home grounds, playing against Hyderabad.

Country India India
City Madhya Pradesh
Founded 1950
Ground Holkar Stadium
Nickname MP
Coach Chandrakant Pandit

As of 2023, the team is captained by Aditya Shrivastava for FC and List A and by Parth Sahani for T20. The coach is Chandrakant Pandit and their chairman is Jyotiraditya Scindia.

Notable Players

Below is a list of the more notable players who have played for this cricket team:

Team Achievements

As Holkar

  • 1945–46, 1947–48, 1950–51, 1952–53 -Ranji Trophy Winners
  • 1944–45, 1946–47, 1949–50, 1951–52,1953–54, 1954–55 - Ranji TrophyRunners-up

As Madhya Pradesh

  • 2021–22 - Ranji Trophy Winner
  • 1998–99 - Ranji Trophy Runners-up
  • 1998–99 - Wills Trophy Winners
  • 2010-11 - Syed Mushtaq Ali TrophyRunners-up