Bengal Cricket Team

Country India India
City West Bengal
Founded 1908
Ground Eden Gardens
Coach Arun Lal
Ranji Trophy

In India, cricket is very popular in West Bengal. The credit of this popularity may be given to Saurav Ganguly who is from Bengal and is the most successful captain of team India till date. The state has also produced several other talented players like Devang Gandhi, Murtaza Lodhgar, Rohan Gavaskar, Laxmi Ratan Shukla and Ranadeb Ranjit Bose. In the Ranji Trophy, the Bengal cricket team was a runner-up in the following years – 2006-07, 2005-06, 1993-94, 1971-72, 1958-59, 1955-56, 1943-44 and 1936-37. In the state of West Bengal, most of the matches are played at Eden Gardens, Kolkata.

Some of the famous players of Bengal Cricket team are as follows – Shibsagar Singh is a right handed batsman. Sanjib Sanyal has also played for Railways cricket team and is a right handed batsman. Similarly, Ritam Kundu has also played for Railways cricket team and is a right handed batsman. Nikhil Haldipur is a left handed batsman and has also represented teams like India B, India A, Rest of India, East Zone and Goa. Laxmi Ratan Shukla is a right handed batsman who has been selected for the Indian cricket team. Devang Gandhi is an occasional right arm medium pace bowler who basically bats right handedly. Arindam Das also bats right handedly. Anirban Chatterjee is a left handed batsman. Shib Shankar Paul is a right handed batsman who was selected in Indian Board President’s XI.

Major Achievements

Bengal cricket team has won the Ranji Trophy in 1938-39 and 1989-90.

Team Roster

Name Role
Anustup Majumdar India batsman
Manoj Tiwary India batsman
Shami Ahmed India bowler
Ashok Dinda India bowler
Sayan Ghosh India bowler
Iresh Saxena India bowler
Shreevats Goswami India wicket-keeper
Wriddhiman Saha India wicket-keeper

Bet Play-Money for Fun