The Maharashtra Cricket Team represents the Indian state of Maharashtra and is owned and operated by the Maharashtra Cricket Association. They have won two Ranji Trophies and they have one Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy.

Club Profile

The Maharashtra Cricket Team was founded in 1934. It is owned by the Maharashtra Cricket Association and it calls the Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Pune as their home ground. It has a capacity of 37,000. Prior to that, they called the Poona Gymkhana Ground, Nehru Stadium their home grounds.

The team colors are yellow and dark blue. They made their First Class Cricket debut in 1934.

They had their first Ranji win in the 1939/1940 season and clocked their second in a back-to-back success in the 1940/1941 season. They have not won a Ranji Trophy since.

In the 2009-2010 season, they won their first Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy.

Notable Players

2023 Coaching Staff

Country India India
City Pune
Founded 1934
Ground Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium,Pune
Captain Ankit Bawne
Coach Santosh Jedhe


The team was one of the first 15 teams that took part in the Ranji Trophy. Back then, it was captained by DB Deodhar and lost its inaugural match to the team from Bombay, now the Mumbai Cricket Team.

  • Head Coach: Santosh Jedhe
  • Bowling Coach: Shadab Jakati
  • Assistant coach: Akshay Tandale
  • Physio: Vaibhav Daga
  • Trainer: Mahesh Patil