Royal Bengal Tigers

Country India India
City Kolkata
Founded 2007
Indian Cricket League

In the Indian Cricket League, the Royal Bengal Tigers team was known as Kolkata Tigers till the 2008 Edelweiss 20s Challenge. The team is based in the state of West Bengal of India in the city of Kolkata.

The captain of this team is Craig McMillan of New Zealand. The other players in the team are Eklak Ahmid, Ali Hamid, Sujay Tarafdar of Assam, Mihir Diwakar of Jharkhand, Shiv Sagar Singh of Bengal, Pritam Das of Assam, Rajiv Kumar of Kolkata, Abu Nechim of Assam, Subhomoy Das of Kolkata, Rohan Gavaskar of Bengal, Deep Dasgupta of Bengal, Abhishek Jhunjhunwala of Kolkata, Hamish Marshall, Andre Adams, Upul Chandana of Sri Lanka and Lance Klusener of South Africa. The batsman from South Africa, Daryll Cullinan is the coach of this team.

In the ICL 20s, the top batsman of this team has been Craig McMillan with 546 runs and the highest score has been reached by Lance Klusener, who scored 91 runs against Lahore Badshahs. The best bowler of this team has been Eklak Ahmid who has taken 23 wickets, while the best bowling figures of 4 wickets for 6 runs has been recorded by Darren Maddy against Chandigarh Lions.

On 28th October 2008, the Royal Bengal Tigers was defeated by Chandigarh Lions by 8 wickets. This match was played at Tau Devi Lal Stadium in Gurgaon. Chandigarh Lions won the toss and decided to field first. In 20 overs, Royal Bengal Tigers scored 140 runs for the loss of 9 wickets. Marshall scored 57 runs in 35 deliveries. The Chandigarh Lions scored 141 runs for the loss of 2 wickets in 17.3 overs. TP Singh who scored 74 runs in 48 deliveries was declared as the Man of the Match.

On 25th October 2008, the Royal Bengal Tigers defeated Dhaka Warriors by 8 wickets. Royal Bengal Tigers won the toss and decided to field. Dhaka Warriors scored 172 runs for the loss of 7 wickets in 20 overs. Alok Kapali scored 65 runs in 33 deliveries. The Royal Bengal Tigers scored 175 for 2 wickets in 18.4 overs. Deep Dasgupta who scored unbeaten 80 runs in 57 deliveries was chosen as the Man of the Match.

Major achievements

The Royal Bengal Tigers team occupied the 3rd place in the 2008 Indian Cricket League 20-20 domestic tournament.

This team was ranked 4th in 3 tournaments called as 2008 Indian Cricket League Edelweiss 20s Challenge, 2008 Indian Cricket League 50s and 2007 Indian Cricket League 20-20 Indian Championship.

  • Improve This Page Latest edit by MaxD

Team Roster

Name Role

Bet Play-Money for Fun