West Indies national women's cricket team

Sport Cricket
Home town undefined
Founding year 1976

The West Indies Women’s team represents West Indies in Women’s International Cricket. They played their first recorded match on 7th May 1976 against Australia at Montego Bay in Jamica. west indies national women s cricket team

The team is governed by the West Indies Cricket Board. They are currently being captained by Stephanie Power. The team did not participate in any Women’s World Cup until 1988. They played their first World Cup in 1993 and finished in 6th place. In the 1997 Women’s World Cup the team played once again this time finishing at the 9th position. After not participating in the 2000 Women’s World Cup the West Indies Women’s team lost all six games to Sri Lanka in a six match One day International series that West Indies hosted. In 2003, the West Indies women played in the International Women’s Cricket Council Trophy against Netherlands, Ireland, Japan, Scotland and Pakistan and were the runners up. The team participated in the 2005 World Cup and finished at the fifth position.

The team has recorded a highest of 440 runs in test cricket against Pakistan and 229 runs for 5 wickets against the Denmark women’s team in One day Internationals. In a total of 45 One day Internationals, the team has won 17 matches and lost 27 matches. They have also won 2 tests and lost 9 matches in a total of 11 International test matches that they have played.

Major Achievements

2003 Women’s Cricket Council Trophy , Runners up.

  • Improve This Page Latest edit by MaxD
  • Share this page:

Member Activity


FB1 gave a rating of 4 to West Indies national women's cricket team -

Latest Articles

Cricket article sidebar

World Cup 2009 team

After the England national women's cricket team defeated New Zealand national women's cricket team and lifted the World Cup 2009, the ICC announced the World Cup 2009 XI.Selected Players5 players from the England Women cricket team have been included in this squad. The leading run getter of this World Cup, Claire Taylor (England), who was honored a... Continue reading

Team Roster

Name Position
Garfield Sobers all-rounder
Stefanie Taylor all-rounder
Nadine Andrea George batsman
Stacy-Ann King batsman
Charlene Taitt batsman
Merissa Aguilleira wicket-keeper

Latest Forum Posts

Topic Replies Last Post