The Sri Lanka Women’s team represents Sri Lanka in International Women’s cricket. The team played their first recorded match on 25th November 1997 against Netherlands at Colombo in Sri Lanka.

The Sri Lanka National Women’s Cricket team is governed by the Sri Lanka Cricket which was previously known as Board for Cricket Control in Sri Lanka. They are currently being captained by Shashikala Siriwardene. The team made its first World Cup appearance in the 1997 Women’s World Cup where they reached the quarter finals and have played the 2000 and 2005 World Cups since then finishing at the 6th position both the years. They have also participated in the 2004 and 2005-06 Asia Cups where they were the runners up for both the years. The team reached the finals of the 2008 Asia Cup where they lost to the Indian women’s team.

Country Sri Lanka Sri Lanka
City Colombo
Founded 1997

The team has a high score of 305 runs for 9 wickets in Test cricket in a match that they declared against the Pakistan women’s team. 240 runs for 8 wickets is the team’s high score in One day cricket which they scored against Netherlands. In a total of 57 One day Internationals, the Sri Lankan Women’s team have won 29 matches and lost 27 matches. They have played only one International test match till date and have won the same.

Major Achievements

Asia Cup Runners up, 2004, 2005-06, 2008.