Windward Islands cricket team

City St Lucia
Founded 1959

The Windward Islands Cricket Board of Control comprises of the islands called Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Saint Lucia, Grenada and Dominica. With the exception of Trinidad and Tobago and Barbados those islands which were known as the British Windward Islands are included in this Board. This board is represented by the Windward Islands cricket team which participates in the regional competitions in the West Indies.

This team has taken part in the KFC Cup and the Carib Beer Cup and depending on the performances in these tournaments the players are chosen to represent the national West Indies team. Some of the noteworthy players of the Windward Islands in the past are Devon Smith, Junior Murray, Rawl Davis, Winston Davis and Cameroon Cuffy.

So far the Windward Islands cricket team has not been successful in winning even a single first class title. Regarding the one day titles it has attempted 32 times and has won only 2 one day titles. Thus in the current scenario this team has the worst title record when compared with the other first class West Indian teams.

This team has played at various grounds. The most recent addition has been the Beausejour Stadium in Gros Islet, Saint Lucia. 16 matches have been played at Windsor Park in Dominica. 21 matches have been played at Mindoo Philip Park in Saint Lucia. 25 matches have been played at Queen’s Park in Grenada and 29 matches have been played at Amos Vale Ground in Kingstown, Saint Vincent.

The team of 2005-06 comprised of the following players – the captain was Rawl Lewis – the all rounder was Liam Sebastien – the wicket keeper was Junior Murray – the bowlers were Shane Shillingford, Darren Sammy, Kenroy Peters, Jean Paul, Mervyn Matthew, Orlanzo Jackson, Dennis George, Deighton Butler – the batsmen were Devon Smith, Hyron Shallow, Alvin La Feuille, Sergio Fedee, Ronald Ettienne, Craig Emmanuel and Romel Currency.

Major achievements

In 1988-89 the Windward Islands cricket team won the Geddes Grant Shield which is a one day competition.

In 2000-2001 the team won the Red Stripe Bowl.

  • Improve This Page Latest edit by MaxD

Team Roster

Name Role
Andre Fletcher Grenada batsman
Devon Smith Grenada batsman
Keon Peters bowler
Johnson Charles wicket-keeper

Bet Play-Money for Fun