Trinidad and Tobago cricket team

Country Trinidad and Tobago Trinidad and Tobago
City Port of Spain
Founded 1869

From 1869 onwards first class cricket was played by teams from Trinidad and they competed with Demerara (i.e. British Guyana). This team was also active in the Inter Colonial tournament in which the other two teams were British Guyana and Barbados. From 1891 to 1938 overall 28 tournaments were played. Tobago was included as a ward in the colony of Trinidad from the late 1880s.

The Trinidad and Tobago cricket team was victorious in the domestic one day championship once in the seventies, thrice in the eighties and twice in the nineties. In the Inter Colonial tournament this team won four times in the first decade of the century, four times in the twenties and four times in the thirties. The team was triumphant in the domestic first class championship once in the sixties, twice in the seventies, once in the eighties and once after the millennium.

This team is associated with four grounds. 143 first class games have been played at the Queen’s Park Oval in Port of Spain. 41 games have been played at Guaracara Park in Pointe-a-Pierre and one game each has been played at National Cricket Center at Couva and Shaw Park at Scarborough, Tobago.

Some of the former famous players of this team are Jeffrey Stollmeyer, Sonny Ramadhin, Deryck Murray, Gus Logie, Brian Lara, Wes Hall, Larry Gomes, Mervyn Dillon, Learie Constantine and Ian Bishop.

Some of the players of the 2005-06 squad are as follows – Daren Ganga is the captain – the all rounders were Kieron Pollard, Richard Kelly, Sherwin Ganga, Reyad Emrit and Dwayne Bravo – the batsmen were Brian Lara, Adrian Barath, Lendl Simmons, Darren Bravo and Tishan Maraj – the bowlers were Ravi Rampaul, Dave Mohammad, Amit Jaggernauth and Mervyn Dillon – the wicket keeper was Denesh Ramdein.

Major achievements

The Trinidad and Tobago cricket team has won the domestic one day competition 6 times, Inter Colonial tournament 12 times and the domestic first class competition 5 times.

Team Roster

Name Role
Narsingh Deonarine Guyana all-rounder
Adrian Boris Barath Jamaica batsman
Denesh Ramdin West Indies wicket-keeper

Bet Play-Money for Fun