Barbadian cricket team

Country Barbados Barbados
City Bridgetown
Founded 1891

In the Caribbean Islands Barbados is represented by a first class cricket team called as the Barbadian Cricket team. The home ground of this team is the Kensington Oval in Bridgetown. This team takes part in the KFC Cup and the Carib Beer Cup.

This team has won the domestic one day competition thrice in the 1970s, once in the 1980s and once after the millennium. The team was victorious in the unofficial regional tournament which took place after the 2nd World War once. The Inter Colonial tournament took place between Trinidad, British Guyana and Barbados which was won by the Barbadian cricket team four times in the 1890s, twice in the 1900s, twice in the 1910s and four times in the 1920s. The team lifted the domestic first class cup twice in the 1960s, seven times in the 1970s, thrice in the 1980s, four times in the 1990s and thrice after the millennium.

The former famous players of this team are Frank Worrell, Everton Weekes, Clyde Walcott, Gary Sobers, Malcolm Marshall, Conrad Hunte, Desmond Haynes, Wes Hall, Gordon Greenidge, Joel Garner and George Challenor.

The 2005-06 team comprised of the following players – Ryan Hinds was the captain - the all rounders were Kenroy Williams, Dwayne Smith, Ian Bradshaw and Sulieman Benn - the batsmen were Kurt Wilkinson, Dale Richards, Floyd Reifer, Martin Nurse, Alcindo Holder, Shirley Clarke and Wayne Blackman – the bowlers were Antonio Thomas, Ryan Nurse, Fidel Edwards, Corey Collymore, Pedro Collins, Tino Best, Jason Bennett and Ryan Austin – the wicket keepers were Patrick Browne and Courtney Browne.

In the Caribbean Islands the strongest four day team traditionally has been Barbados as it has won eighteen first class titles.

Major achievements

The Barbadian cricket team has won the domestic one day competition 5 times, unofficial regional tournament once, Inter-Colonial tournament 12 times and the domestic first class competition 19 times.

Bet Play-Money for Fun