Otago Cricket Association is a prominent association in New Zealand that is represented by the Otago Volts. This is a first class cricket team and the home ground of this team is the University Oval which has a capacity of 3500 which can be increased to 6000 if temporary seating is added. The Otago Volts made its debut in 1864 at Dunedin. At present it takes part in the Twenty20 Cup, the State Shield domestic one day competition and the State Championship first class competition.

The Otago Volts have emerged victorious in the State Shield Competition once before the millennium and once after it. This team has lifted the Shell Trophy / State Championship in the following seasons – thrice between 1970 and 1980 and twice between 1980 and 1990. The Plunket Shield trophy was won by this team once between 1920 and 1930, once between 1930 and 1940, once between 1940 and 1950, thrice between 1950 and 1960, once between 1960 and 1970 and once between 1970 and 1980.

Country New Zealand New Zealand
City Dunedin
Founded 1864
Website otagocricket.co.nz

The former notable players of this team are Lance Cairns, Paul Wiseman, Glenn Turner, Bert Sutcliffe, Ken Rutherford, Mark Richardson, Alex Moir, Brendon McCullum, Warren Lees, Graham Botting, Stephen Boock, Bruce Blair, Jack Alabaster and Gren Alabaster.

Generally this team plays its matches at University Oval and Carisbrook in Dunedin. Intermittently a few matches are played at Oamaru (Centennial Park) and Invercargill (Queen’s Park). In the recent past several matches have been organized in Alexandra at Molyneaux Park. This has happened specifically in the Christmas – New Year holiday season. Central Otago has a dry and warm summer climate that offers better cricketing circumstances when compared with the west coastal regions. Queenstown Events Center is a newly developed venue of this team.

The 2006-07 squad comprised of the following players – Craig Cumming as the captain, Gareth Hopkins, Kyle Hogg, Shaun Haig, Chris Gaffaney, Neil Broom, Greg Todd, Jordan Sheed, Gareth Shaw, Brad Scott, Aaron Redmond and James McMillan.

Major achievements

The Otago Volts has won the State Shield Trophy twice, the Shell Trophy / State Championship five times and the Plunket Shield Trophy 8 times.