Northern Districts Knights

Country New Zealand New Zealand
Founded 1955
Twenty20 Champions League

In the North Island of New Zealand in the northern part but not in Auckland is based Northern District Knights which is a first class cricket team. The home ground of this team is the Seddon Park which has a capacity of 10,000. The debut of this team took place in 1955 at Hamilton. Currently the team takes part in the State Shield domestic one day competition and the State Championship first class competition.

The Northern District Knights have won the State Shield championship in the following years – once in the seventies, twice in the nineties and twice after the millennium. The team has been victorious in the Shell Trophy / State Championship once in the seventies, thrice in the nineties and once after the millennium. The Knights have lifted the Plunket Shield trophy once in the sixties.

This team plays a majority of its matches in Hamilton at Seddon Park however there are two more grounds that are also used. These are Owen Delany Park in Taupo and Harry Barker Reserve in Gisborne.

The former notable players in the Northern Districts Knights team are Scott Styris, Bryan Young, John Wright, David White, John Parker, Geoff Howarth, Graeme Hick, Robbie Hart, Simon Doull, Cliff Dickeson and Barry Cooper.

The 2006-07 squad of this team was comprised of the following players – the captain was James Marshall along with Simon Andrews, Graeme Alridge, Daniel Vettori, Joseph Yovich, Brad Wilson, Daryl Tuffey, Timothy Southee, Grant Robinson and Mark Orchard.

6 District Associations make up the Northern Districts Cricket. These are Poverty Bay, Bay of Plenty, Waikato Valley, Hamilton, Counties Manukau and Northland. Out of these the Bay of Plenty cricket clubs has four sub association clubs called Eastern Sub Association, Te Puke Sub Association, Tauranga Sub Association and Taupo Sub Association.

Major achievements

The Northern District Knights have won the State Shield competition 5 times, the Shell Trophy / State Championship 5 times and the Plunket Shield Trophy once.

Team Roster

Name Role
Jonathon James Boult New Zealand batsman
Anton Paul Devcich New Zealand batsman
Daniel Flynn New Zealand batsman
James Marshall New Zealand batsman
Graeme William Aldridge New Zealand bowler
Brent John Arnel New Zealand bowler
Bradley-John Watling New Zealand wicket-keeper

Bet Play-Money for Fun