Western Warriors is based in Perth and is a first class cricket team. For sponsorship reasons it is also called as the Retravision Warriors. The WACA ground is the home ground of this team which has a capacity of 20000. In the Australian first class competition the state of Western Australia is represented by this team. This team participates in the KFC Twenty20 Big Bash, the limited overs Ford Ranger cup and the Sheffield Shield also known as the Pura Cup.

In 1893 this team made its first class debut at the Adelaide Oval. In 1956 it was given complete status of the Sheffield Shield competition. This competition was won by the team in 1972, 1973, 1975, 1977 and 1978. In 1978 the team defeated Tasmania is the first one day final at Perth. The Sheffield Shield was again won by the Western Warriors in 1981 and 1984. In 1986 the team played against Victoria at the WACA ground’s first ever cricket match played under lights. In 1987 and 1989 the Sheffield Shield was won by the Western Warriors. The FAI cup was won by this team in 1990 and 1991. In 1992 it again won the Sheffield Shield. In 1997 this team was victorious in the Mercantile Mutual Cup which was a one day series and in the inaugural Super 8’s competition. In 2001 the team was victorious in the Champions Cup. This was an international cricket competition that included teams like South Africa, India and New Zealand.

Country Australia Australia
Founded 1851

Some of the renowned players of the Western Warriors who have created an impression in the Australian cricket team are Graeme Wood, Bob Simpson, Mike Hussey, Tom Moody, Rodney Marsh, Geoff Marsh, Justin Langer, Adam Gilchrist and Dennis Lillee.

For the 2008-09 season the squad of the Western Warriors is as follows- Marcus North is the captain, Adam Voges is the vice-captain and some of the players are Nathan Coulter Nile, David Bandy, Nicholas Death, Paul Davis, Liam Davis, Arron Crawford, Aaron Heal, Ben Edmondson, Theo Doropoulus and Brett Dorey.

Major achievements

The Western Warriors has won the Ford Ranger Cup 11 times and the Pura Cup 15 times.